What is it with our Ex’s

I’ve just been reading a post from Back on my Own (I do hope she doesn’t mind me linking to her), and I’ve come to the conclusion that when these men go into destruction mode, smashing up their marriage, walking roughshod over the person they promised to stand beside through thick and thin –  they also appear to lose the ability to show any emotion or offer any moments of care or normal human behaviour to that person at all.    It really is true Men can’t multi-task!  And in this case multi-tasking seems to include being able to cope with showing what would normally be normal behaviour to more than one person in their life at once.  It is beyond them! Maybe it is the intensity of the emotion which renders them incapable.  Is it guilt?  But they seem to close down completely.

These men seem to forget how to be Men and become rather pathetic shadows of the person they used to be.  My LC is right – what’s needed is Man School.

Anyway enough on my Theory of the Day!   I need to turn my back on my 24 hours of low.  Today is Saturday and the weather is somewhat grim.

I have things to resolve in my little house:

  • I am going to come to terms with the water softener!
  • I need to sort out the wireless router – as currently although now re-connected to the outside world I somehow feel my laptop should be able to connect from every room rather than only working when it’s about one foot away from the router and no further!   It used to.  And  it clearly isn’t worth asking my IT expert Ex to come and help.  I don’t come high on his lists of anything! (and I know that in a great many cases 12″ is something to be proud of – but this does NOT apply to a wireless router!)
  • I need to track down my post – which seems to have vanished down some Royal Mail cul-de-sac!   I wouldn’t mind but I won a very small prize (£25) on the premium bonds and I feel I should have the cheque!

So a new day dawns.  It is mine to use as I can to the best of my ability and not to waste.   I am out to dinner tonight to my great friend and supporter and her hubby.

I’ll no doubt write again later!

3 thoughts on “What is it with our Ex’s

  1. Sometimes the ex-wife acts completely aloof too. I rarely measure a status of even ‘hello’, while others are talked to freely in my presence. I don’t understand this at all. Couldn’t we at least talk about the kids? Hang in there!

  2. 12″? I get light headed at the thought.
    Caroline be careful what you wish for; often the only emotion you’ll find there is anger. Anger at themselves for screwing up, but with the inability to admit faulty it is usually redirected to the those around him.

    Best advice my dear, stay clear of that emotional tidal pool, the surface may seem calm, but down below…. lurk the creatures that go bump in the dark.

    Hope your dinner goes well. AJ

Please do leave a comment. I'd love to read what you think

