Bushmen of the Kalahari

This is a cause very dear to my heart.  About 8/9 years ago Alex and I visited one of the relocation sites on the edge of the Central Kalahari Game Reserve and saw for ourselves the misery they were living in.

Today’s announcement from Survival International is truly wonderful news:

Borehole Breakthrough

And good for me to remember – to have that reminder –  that some people don’t even have the fundamental requirements to live – as they should be allowed to live on the land which has always been theirs.

One thought on “Bushmen of the Kalahari

  1. This is indeed wonderful. I have never been to Botswana (that is where the Kalahari is, isn’t it?), but I’ve heard you talk colourfully about it, so that I could see and feel the land. Also, One of my favourite series of books is Alexander McColl-Smiths No. 1 Ladies Detectives. I loved watching this on television, and seeing the hot burning landscape, the way of life, the wildlife, two giraffes banging each other’s sides with their heads… As you say, seeing others worse off than yourself puts your own predicament into perspective, and I’m not just talking about you – I mean everyone who doesn’t have to think about the fundamentals of life.

Please do leave a comment. I'd love to read what you think

