So What’s the Risk?

On Stephen’s recommendation I’ve also subscribed to Bob Proctor’s emails.

This morning I’ve received his email with the following quote:

To laugh is to risk appearing the fool.
To weep is to risk appearing sentimental.
To reach out for another is to risk involvement.
To expose feelings is to risk exposing your true self.
To place your ideas, your dreams, before a crowd is to risk their loss.
To love is to risk not being loved in return.
To live is to risk dying.
To hope is to risk despair.
To try is to risk failure.
But risks must be taken because the greatest hazard in life is to risk nothing.
The person who risks nothing, does nothing, has nothing, is nothing.
He may avoid suffering and sorrow,
But he cannot learn, feel, change, grow or live.
Chained by his servitude he is a slave who has forfeited all freedom.
Only a person who risks is free.
The pessimist complains about the wind;
The optimist expects it to change;
And the realist adjusts the sails.  – Author William Arthur Ward

But as he goes on to say if we don’t take risks we don’t live:

“You may avoid suffering and sorrow if you don’t risk, but you simply cannot learn, feel, change, grow, love, live. The greatest hazard in life is to risk nothing. The person who risks nothing, does nothing and has nothing. Only a person who risks is free.”

So what ‘bugs’ me is why didn’t those who have cheated on us by running to someone who they think is their new “solution” take the risk of “Reaching out and risking true involvement” – if they had they might have actually found the freedom to truly live.

And my answer:  Because taking risks takes courage.  Maybe our ‘cheaters’ lack courage.

We all need courage to take our individual risks to face our futures and truly live.

7 thoughts on “So What’s the Risk?

    • I agree.

      For me the Risk has been letting go. Not letting go of Alex – he’s gone so I can’t let go of him! He’s not here to Let Go Of! But letting go of the feelings I give myself when I think of him and the life we had. And why do I feel this is a risk? I think it’s because letting go leaves a gap. Understanding that the gap is OK and not as scary as I thought has been hard. And actually the gap does ‘set me free’ – as, in a way, there’s now a space which is available to be filled with new ‘stuff’!

      Does that make sense?

  1. I whole-heartedly agree: Reaching out and risking true involvment takes a great deal of courage, a long hard look at yourself too. A lot of people aren’t able to do that I guess.
    Along with counting ducks and Pat, I eagerly await to see what exciting and inspiring stuff you’re going to fill the gap with! 🙂

  2. Thank you for your entire blog, Caroline. Your comments that “letting go leaves a gap” and that the gap sets you free are so spot on and in perfect timing for me. Such a challenging issue “letting go” is. I am just discovering that being vigilant of what comes out of my mouth (i.e. in the form of dwelling or obsessing) is reshaping my thinking, my confidence and my accessibility to peace. I love how you share your growth and insights.

Please do leave a comment. I'd love to read what you think

