I’m sleeping with NLP

I’m NLP’d out.  I have read and read and read and I now have a list of questions which are mind bogglingly  irritating!!  I wake next to a mass of books strewn all over my bed next to me!

I’m in total danger of becoming nerdy about all this!  But at least it’s focusing me on the future – whatever that turns out to be!!  Mostly it’s stopping the looking back moments – except for last night which was one of my un-clever moments of wallowing in nostalgia, a moment of trawling the posts from this time last year when clearly I was so stressed out all I could do was weep – and, apparently, write copious amounts here, given I inflicted 64 posts on the world in that month alone for which I admire those who managed to comment on most of them!!  I’m surprised I found time to do any sorting out and packing at all!!

I think part of the problem is this time of year.  The festive season is a family time and right now family is what I have precious little of.  My brothers and I have an uneasy truce held together by the sale of the family home, 2/3rds of which should go through this week.  The last 1/3rd – the now wonderfully refurbished and extended flat originally owned by Alex and me remains unsold.  It looks wonderful.  I’ve been round twice and that’s enough.  I won’t inflict any more damage on myself!

My older brother is in the middle of the turmoil of breaking up his marriage – something which still baffles me and, I think, everyone else.  My younger brother is doing his usual trick of keeping as far away as possible and only communicating in a rather business like fashion on matters of property thus avoiding any form of emotional involvement!  Someone should give him a Phd in it!!

So  I’ve spent a rather solitary festive week in the company of wonderful words such as submodalities, epistemology (which as I’ve said before is sadly not the science of getting drunk), swishing and other terms which my little brain is feeling surprised at being introduced to!!  It makes the French homework seem easy in comparison.  Talking of which I’d better go and write my paragraph as I have a conversation lesson this morning!! (Why do I always leave this to the last moment to get done!!)

Anyway one of my ambitions this year is to wake up and find I’m not sleeping with the training manuals – but with a trainer who has decided to train me into enjoying all those things which I want to enjoy (thank you AJ for your particular ‘on the nail’ comment last year)

4 thoughts on “I’m sleeping with NLP

  1. On the odd occasions when I clear off my bedside cabinet I find myself wondering what nocturnal emergency could possibly require me to have such a ridiculous number of books within easy reach (32 is, I think, the record)! You are not alone!

    What a difference a year makes! You may not have had your best Christmas/New Year ever but it’s a definite improvement on last year’s and who knows where you may be by this time next year?

  2. Dear Caroline, I didn’t realise your Xmas had been quite so…Lonely. There’s me wallowing in unhappiness while I am surrounded by family and love, and you supporting me from over the Channel. I feel humbled, and thank you soooo much…xx

Please do leave a comment. I'd love to read what you think

