Rubbish in, Rubbish Out!

Many, many years ago when I was training as a computer programmer we were constantly reminded of this phrase!  Don’t blame the systems!  If you programme rubbish, rubbish is what you’ll get back!

Applies to life though doesn’t it!!

I will admit I’ve been sneakily feeding myself some rubbish recently!  Not, I hasten to add, with reference to my Life Coaching Goal in that I’m totally committed to the training and thoroughly enjoying learning!!

But more to do with me, my belief in myself and my wish to have a new relationship, succeed in giving myself a stunning new life, in being really happy and being financially secure!!

I was having moments of doubt, so feeding myself more rubbish!  And rubbish is what I’ve been getting back!!

I’ve NOT been doing a great many things!

I’ve not been entering photos in the camera club competitions – so not getting any points – so deciding I’m no good!!

I’ve not been hunting down any dates on the 2 internet dating sites I’m on so have decided no-one wants to meet me

There’s more – but I’ll spare you, dear reader!!

The ever watchful Stephen has been keeping a weather eye on my blog and suggesting I might care to give myself better chances!!  He is, of course, (and slightly irritatingly!!) quite right!

Today’s blog post from him is a timely reminderAnd I really do urge you all to read it. It’s very important – especially to any one, like me, who wants more than they’ve currently got in any area of their life.

I’m sure I’m not alone in feeding myself ‘rubbish’.  I believe hope even really successful people have moments of inflicting themselves with these negative perceptions.  I just hope that the difference is that the successful people spot the signs fast and then take positive action.  And as I’m determined to be successful I need to join that group and take action fast!

So all I would say, dear reader, if you’ve reached this paragraph, is to remember the adage “Rubbish in, rubbish out”  and do the opposite!!

What do you think?

And like all good exam questions I’d now like you to

DISCUSS!!!

5 thoughts on “Rubbish in, Rubbish Out!

  1. I LOVE that we can always count on you to make us work hard. So in the spirit of your challenge here’s my contribution to ‘discuss’. 😉 You are quite right with the phrase ‘rubbish in, rubbish out’. I think the key thing is sometimes it is our rubbish and sometimes it can be other people’s rubbish that we have let slip under the radar. It can feel daunting in whatever form it comes to clear out the rubbish. I think the process you are going through is like a therapeutic recycling. sifting through the rubbish into some kind of order that feels manageable before we discard it into the great recycling site where it deserves to be. That’s my tuppence worth anyway. I always feel it is less daunting dealing with a pile of rubbish I’ve been brave enough to sort through. Turfing it all out at once just feels too daunting for me. Good luck with your recycling 😉

  2. If you constantly run yourself down, for example, with your photography it can become a self fulfilling prophecy. You think you are bad, and generally you will eventually meet these expectations.

    The trick is to think positive thoughts and to aspire to achieve those instead. Sadly it is always much harder to maintain that positive mental attitude.

  3. This is so true. For me alot of times it creeps in from little comments made by others. I tend to give power to others thoughts, and have to over come them. Wish my inner self was strong enough to over ride the input that is rubbish. Great blog:)

  4. Very interesting conversation….I agree with all the comments especially about other peoples rubbish slipping in the mix. Working on throughing it ALL out

  5. It isn’t just people who have been successful who finally learn to catch themselves ‘feeding rubbish’. I cannot, in any way consider myself successful. I’m overweight, have yet to make a buck with my blog, and my relationship with my son is fair at best. However, I don’t believe that I am a failure. I need some help with these things in my life and trying to find that help where I don’t have any money is difficult to say the least. I have the personal philosophy of working on what I can when I can and the rest will have to wait.

Please do leave a comment. I'd love to read what you think

