Throwing caution to the wind!

Ah! That got your attention!

Radio 3 (our classical  radio station – courtesy of the BBC) played Beethoven’s Emperor Concerto this morning as I drove to work!  Great for jollying along the journey.

It brought back a happy memory of when I was au pairing in Paris – well to be absolutely correct I’d just been fired from my au pair job by Madame who  lost the plot one evening!  I’d been out with ‘les enfants’ during the afternoon – as usual – keeping them clear of the flat so she could entertain who ever it was that day!  We came across some other children  throwing stones – I got hit fair and square on the head by a particularly large stone and  ended up in hospital having stitches (having first returned her children to her loving care I might add!  All the while bleeding somewhat profusely over everyone!).  Anyway she fired me for not looking after the children that evening as I retreated to bed with a headache!!!  The joys of au pairing!!

Back to my story –  It was a couple of weeks or so after this.  I’d found somewhere to live and I was earning the odd few francs babysitting as I still had 8 weeks left to finish my French course!  All I had to my name was my fare home and 100 francs!  And for reasons which I can now  not explain I hadn’t told my parents!!

I queued for over 4 hours to see Artur Rubinstein play the Emperor Concerto! It was one of the last concerts he gave – he did 2 performances that day!  So basically I queued through the first one!!

I paid my last 100 francs for the privilege! And I can promise you it was worth it!!

When I finally owned up to my parents a few days later that I was somewhat destitute, they, of course, bailed me out.  My father didn’t feel I’d squandered my money at all!!!

So occasionally it’s worth “Throwing caution to the wind”  and going with the flow!  After all if one doesn’t then memories like the one I have wouldn’t exist!

11 thoughts on “Throwing caution to the wind!

  1. I agree totally about throwing caution to the wind. Unless of course the caution your throwing takes the form of a stone in the direction of an au pair’s face.

    Glad you didn’t miss the opportunity though, I’m sure you would have regretted it otherwise. 🙂

  2. Caution to the wind? Au contraire!! To spend your last francs on the Emperor and Rubinstein is prudent in my opinion. Missing it would have made you say: I could’ve and I should’ve!

  3. I agree. I remember when my contract was not extended and I was in a foreign country I decided to take a picnic basket and went to see the international one-day cricket match in the next town over. Despite my rather sticky situation, like your Rubinstein experience, it is one of my happiest memories

  4. Of course I was almost bound to win my Dad’s approval. He was a concert pianist before WW2 and my birth certificate actually gives his profession as Classical Pianist!! (You can hear some of his playing on my Music matters page – the recordings made when he was 89/90 years old)

  5. Thats a great story and a great experience and thank God for your father of course, but you can’t help wondering about the character of your employer. She sounds pretty odd

Please do leave a comment. I'd love to read what you think

