If you stop you’ll get rammed……

My journey to work this morning started calmly!  The sun was shining (a bonus), I was doing a reasonable speed in the slow lane of the motorway. I was listening to some gentle music of the classical variety.  I was at peace with the world.

Those on my side of the motorway were doing the decent thing and all travelling in the same direction………………..

Except for ONE!

All of a sudden the very large 4×4 in the middle lane next to me realised that he was fast approaching a car that wasn’t going anywhere.  It wasn’t moving…….  AT ALL!  There was no traffic jam – no this car was just ‘parked’ in the middle lane with no brake-lights, warnings or hazard lights explaining its predicament.

Now approaching a solid stationary object when you’re doing over 70 mph means everything is going to happen rather fast.

The 4×4 braked and swerved violently into my lane, rocking somewhat precariously into my path …….

I braked and swerved into the hard-shoulder (emergency lane)……..

We all missed each other!

I’m not too sure how! 

There could have been utter carnage. 

There wasn’t!  Thank goodness

The 4×4 and I continued our journeys – rather shakily…..

So my suggestion for today to my reader is –  if you’re going in a forwards direction and feel in need of recouping your resources choose a sensible place to do so and inform others of your intentions, because if you suddenly stop in the wrong place you’ll end up getting rammed…….  sooner or later!

Good morning world. 

I’m still here!! 

 

8 thoughts on “If you stop you’ll get rammed……

  1. Geezz!! I’ve seen some pretty crazy maneouvres on the motorway but I’ve never seen a parked car! Without even the hazrads on. Madness.

  2. Thank goodness you two drivers were in sync, and presumably the drivers behind you reacted well. Phew. I wonder why the ‘parked’ car was there? Something catastrophic must have happened, and let’s hope that it was removed before anyone else was involved.

  3. that is a frightening situation.
    It takes some time for the mind to process that a car on the motorway may not be moving. It does not fit with in the expected rules so the brain can have issue with accepting it.

    Sounds like you were all lucky. I’am sure this woke you up

Please do leave a comment. I'd love to read what you think

